Team Instructional Design Experience

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Morrison, Ross, & Kemp Model 

In about two weeks, I will be presenting my instructional design model in class. I decided to investigate the Morrison, Ross, and Kemp model. This model adapts a circular structure which contrasts other instructional design models that are linear in nature. This model also allows for flexibility since instructional designers are able to start the design process with any of the nine components or stages rather than being constrained to work in a linear fashion. 

Doing a quick google scholar and database search, I found numerous articles related to this model. There is a wide variety of different research articles related to the Morrison, Ross, and Kemp model – theoretical, descriptions, comparisons, experimental, etc. Several of the articles use the model in different modalities such as online, blended, and face-to-face as well as in different settings. It will be important for me to narrow down my search. I have started thinking about if this model is used in classes or programs related to graduate student teaching or future faculty preparation programs. I have a feeling this may be too restrictive, but I may be able to look at the applications of this model in various disciplines. This may help in formulating a proposal for a study. 

Team Instructional Design Experience 

In our last class period, we had to complete an in-class activity that focused on solving an instructional design problem. This class is fairly interactive, so I was not surprised to see this type of activity. We spent the first hour learning about 2 instructional design models – ADDIE and TPACK. After the student presentations, we were split into two groups and had to work together to solve an instructional design dilemma. For my team, our scenario included an instructor who wanted to teach his undergraduate students (which were pre-service teachers) how to use videos. The students needed to create videos that documented their experiences for future students; similar to mentors for the new students coming into the program. The problem was that the students did not have the prerequisite skills needed to create the videos. We had to use the TPACK model to design a solution of this instructor. Our team decided to start with a brainstorming session. We placed three large papers on the board and started brainstorming the content, pedagogy, and technology (components of the TPACK model). Once we all had some ideas on the board, we narrowed down our options. As part of the scenario, we had a template (e.g., participants, timeline, outline, materials, framework, etc.) that we needed to complete. 

Our team lead provided all the details and was great to encourage everyone on our team to contribute. I was able to contribute a lot to this brainstorming session since I am currently an instructional designer. I was able to provide examples of things I have used in the past when working with faculty members. For the most part, everyone on our team was about to contribute to the brainstorming session. We were actually able to come to an agreement fairly quickly about what we were going to do for this activity. During the brainstorming session we were able to answer or at least talk about the components of our scenario. I think my team did a great job listening to other people’s perspectives and suggestions. Even when other’s disagreed or there was confusion, we were able to work through these fairly quickly and efficiently. It was actually a very useful and productive brainstorming activity and I hope that I get to work with this team again!   

Leave a comment